

MEMO

Caring People • Quality Programs • Exceptional Service

TO: Members of the City Council

FROM: John A. Haila, Mayor

DATE: March 8, 2022

SUBJECT: Appointments to City Boards and Commissions

Attached you'll find a listing of the City's various boards/commissions that have upcoming vacancies and the names of individuals I propose to be appointed to fill the openings. I continue to be pleased with both the quantity and qualifications of the residents who applied for open positions.

On the accompanying list, those with an asterisk (*) by their names are individuals who are currently serving on that respective board or commission and are eligible to be reappointed.

The application review and "selection process" included both the respective department heads that work with the respective board or commission and me reviewing each application. We then compared notes. In a few situations telephone interviews of applicants were also conducted. Staff is comfortable with the proposed list of recommended appointees.

Should you have any questions on one, or several of the applicants, please let me know. Amy Colwell also has all appointee applications on file should you wish to review them.

MAYOR'S APPOINTMENTS TO CITY OF AMES BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS 2022

(* Incumbents)

Board/Commission	Vacancies	Name
ASSET	2	Michael Lazere
		William Scott Dryer
Board of Review	1	*Gina McAndrews
Building Board of Appeals	3	*Duane Wolf
		*Andrew Tulp
Campus & Community Commission	1	Danaisa Green
(term ends May, 2022)		
Civil Service Commission	1	*Harold Pike
Commission on The Arts (COTA)	2	*David Detlefs
		Jaime Reyes
Electric Utility Operations Review &	1	Randy Larabee
Advisory Board (EUORAB)		·
Historic Preservation Commission	2	Rosemary Dale
		Jesse David Chariton
Human Relations Commission	2	*Lynette Plander
		*Wayne Clinton
Library Board of Trustees	3	*Sandra Mrcu
		Victor Torres III
		Ianka Mitchel-Conway
Parks and Recreation Commission	3	*Jacob Ludwig (1-year term)
		* Sarah Cady
		Rachel Cramer
Partner Cities Association	1	Nicolette Mackey
		Valerie Stallbaumer
Planning and Zoning Commission	2	Michael Sullivan
		Julie Winter
Property Maintenance Appeals Board	1	*Colleen Schwartz
Public Art Commission	6	*Aspen Pflanz
		Sahar Kaissi
		Armaan Gupta
		Ryan Hurley
		Oakley Cadogan
		Tom Lockhart
Zoning Board of Adjustment	1	Leah Patton