## MINUTES OF THE AMES CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION

## AMES, IOWA OCTOBER 27, 2011

The Ames Civil Service Commission met in regular session at 8:15 a.m. on October 27, 2011, in the Council Chambers of City Hall, 515 Clark Avenue, with Commission Members Adams and Shaffer present. Commission Member Crum was absent. Also in attendance was Human Resources Officer Doug Garnett.

**APPROVAL OF MINUTES:** Moved by Shaffer, seconded by Adams, to approve the minutes of the September 22, 2011, Civil Service Commission meeting as written. Vote on Motion: 2-0. Motion declared carried unanimously.

**CERTIFICATION OF ENTRY-LEVEL APPLICANTS:** Moved by Shaffer, seconded by Adams, to certify the following individuals to the Ames City Council as entry-level applicants:

## Maintenance Worker: Lloyd Lee \*99 James Concannon 88 **David Francis** 87 Jeff Leimer 87 **Timothy Humlicek** 86 Charles Pille 86 Stephen Steward 86 Matthew Elbert 85 Amos Link 84 Travis Sayre 84 Rod Thompson 84 J. Hollis Hathaway 83 Scott Moberly 81 Patrick Schmitt 81 \*81 William White Corey Alden 80 Mark Shaw 79 79 Christopher Streigle Scott Fitzgerald \*78 Nathan McKern 78 Alan Ostendorf 78 Seth Pace 78 78 Kurt Sperfslage Terry Anderson 77 Andrew Dodds 77 Joe Mousel 76 Nathan Peebler 76 Travis Heidermann 75 **Brian Abels** 74 Dean Dobbs 74 Branden Geil 74 David Hilgenberg 74 Andrew Mott 74

Dallas Nelson	74
Randy Abel	73
Robert Collins, Jr.	73
Shilo Tharp	73
Andrew Gammon	72
Kelly Kopaska	72
Dale Hollander	71
Zach Landhuis	71
Jeffrey Schleisman	71
Robert Stiles	71

<sup>\*</sup>Includes 5 Veterans Preference Points

Vote on Motion: 2-0. Motion declared carried unanimously.

## REQUEST TO ABOLISH ELECTRIC LINE WORKER ENTRY-LEVEL CERTIFIED

**LIST:** Moved by Shaffer, seconded by Adams, to grant the request to abolish the Electric Line Worker entry-level certified list.

Vote on Motion: 2-0. Motion declared carried unanimously.

**COMMENTS:** The next regularly scheduled Civil Service Commission meeting was set for November 17, 2011, at 8:15 a.m.

**ADJOURNMENT:** The meeting adjourned at 8:16 a.m.

Terry Adams, Chair	Jill Ripperger, Recording Secretary