## MINUTES OF THE JOINT MEETING OF THE AMES CITY COUNCIL AND HOSPITAL BOARD OF TRUSTEES

## AMES, IOWA

## **OCTOBER 1, 2009**

The Ames City Council and Hospital Board of Trustees met in joint session at 12:15 p.m. on the 1<sup>st</sup> day of October, 2009, in Mary Greeley Medical Center (MGMC) North Addition Conference Rooms A & B. Those in attendance were Mayor Campbell and Council Members Goodman, Popken, and Rice; MGMC Board of Trustees Chairperson Buck and Board Members Banitt, Heemstra, Kitchell, and McCuskey. Administrative staff present were Brian Dieter, President and CEO; Vice-Presidents Loes, Whisler, Kiel Rosser, and Tretina; Dr. John Paschen, M.D., Chief of Medical Staff; and Stephanie Johnson, Executive Assistant, representing MGMC; and Steve Schainker, City Manager; Bob Kindred, Assistant City Manager; Doug Marek; City Attorney; and Diane Voss, City Clerk, on behalf of the City.

Chairperson Buck and Mayor Campbell welcomed the City Council, Hospital Board of Trustees, and administrative staff members from both entities.

President Dieter introduced Marilyn Polito, Emergency Department Director. Ms. Polito advised that the topic for today's meeting would be an update on seasonal influenza and H1N1 influenza. She introduced Terri Olinger, Community Services Nurse. Ms. Olinger reported on the efforts being taken by Mary Greeley Medical Center to provide vaccines for both types of influenza. She noted that there should be no shortages of vaccines; however, the shipments of seasonal influenza vaccine have been delayed due to the need to ship vaccine for the H1N1 strain.

Dr. Paschen emphasized the importance of getting children vaccinated. He also advised that information on both strains of influenza can be found by calling the Flu Hotline at 233-7577 or accessing a web site at <u>www.storycounty.com</u>.

Chairperson Buck concluded the meeting by asking the Mayor and City Council to inform her of any topics that they would like included on future joint meeting agendas.

The meeting adjourned at 1:10 p.m.

Diane Voss, City Clerk

Ann Campbell, Mayor