

MEMO

Item No. 10

- To: Mayor Haila and Ames City Council
- From: Deb Schildroth, Assistant City Manager
- **Date:** August 24, 2021
- Subject: Climate Action Plan Supplemental Input Committee Appointments

One of the tools being used to ensure that the City's Climate Action Plan (CAP) process engages and empowers residents, businesses, and institutions is the creation of the Supplemental Input Committee (Committee).

Committee representation comes from twelve community sectors: Building Contractors/Developers, Business, City-at-Large, Civic/Non-profit, Community Schools, Faith-based Organizations, Healthcare, Iowa State University Administration (appointees), Iowa State University Student Government (appointee), Iowa State University students, Non-City Government Agency, and Residential. An application process similar to the process the City uses for other boards and commission was followed and over 50 applications were received.

The overarching role of the Committee is to offer feedback at designated stages of the CAP development including establishing carbon reduction targets. The Committee serves as a conduit between the community sectors they represent and the CAP consultant, SSG. The Committee is responsible for implementing outreach strategies developed in our Engagement and Outreach Plan and suggesting new strategies.

This memo is accompanying the list of Committee members appointed by the Mayor and requiring approval by Council. The Committee meetings fall under applicable public meetings and public records laws.

Mayor's Recommendation for the Climate Action Plan Supplemental Input Committee

Business - (3)

- Kristin Dillavou
- Eric Abrams
- Jon Banwart

Building Contractors/Developers - (2)

- Justin Dodge
- Luke Jensen

Residential – (3)

- Hongli Feng
- Peter Hallock
- Joel Logan
- Faith Based (2)
 - Ellen Johnsen
 - Allison Brundy

Civic/Non-Profit – (3)

- Melissa Murray
- Robert Haug
- Pat Sauer

Community Schools – (3)

- David Lee
- Ananya Balaji
- Jacob Stevens

Non-City Government – (2)

- Latifah Faisal
- Nancy Franz
- ISU Student Government Appointee (1)
- Elizabeth Smith
- ISU Students (3)
 - Victoria Kyveryga
 - Hector Arbuckle
 - Alexandra Walton
- ISU Appointees (2)
 - Mark Kruse
 - Dr. Bill Gutowski
- City at Large (2)
 - Troy Weary
 - Adib Amini

Health Care – (1)

• Karen Keil Rosser