MINUTES OF THE AMES CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION

AMES, IOWA APRIL 28, 2016

The Ames Civil Service Commission met in regular session at 8:15 a.m. on April 28, 2016, in the Council Chambers of City Hall, 515 Clark Avenue, with Commission Members Pike and Ricketts present. Because it was impractical for Commission Member Crum to be present in person, he was brought into the meeting telephonically. Also in attendance was Human Resources Director Kaila Kenjar.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS: Moved by Ricketts, seconded by Pike, to elect Mike Crum as chair of the Civil Service Commission.

Vote on Motion: 3-0. Motion declared carried unanimously.

Moved by Crum, seconded by Ricketts, to elect Harold Pike as vice chair of the Civil Service Commission.

Vote on Motion: 3-0. Motion declared carried unanimously.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES: Moved by Pike, seconded by Crum, to approve the minutes of the March 24, 2016, Civil Service Commission meeting as written.

Vote on Motion: 3-0. Motion declared carried unanimously.

CERTIFICATION OF PREFERRED LISTS FOR COAL HANDLER AND LEAD COAL HANDLER POSITIONS: Moved by Crum, seconded by Pike, to approve the following certifications of the Preferred Lists for the Coal Handler and Lead Coal Handler positions:

Coal Handler: Keith E. Rothfus

Lead Coal Handler: Roger L. Casky

Vote on Motion: 3-0. Motion declared carried unanimously.

CERTIFICATION OF ENTRY-LEVEL APPLICANTS: Moved by Ricketts, seconded by Pike, to certify the following individuals to the Ames City Council as entry-level applicants:

Principal Clerk:	Dena Flynn	84
•	Jennifer Keitges	82
	Kirstin Fett	81
	Pamela McDowell	79
	Adanga Biddle-Roush	78
	Jayne Anderson	77
	Amy Colwell	76
	Alyssa Frandsen	76
	Valerie Sheeder	76
	Jessica Scott	75
	Carlene Aspengren	73

Vote on Motion: 3-0. Motion declared carried unanimously.

by Crum, to certify the following indivision applicants:		•	
Senior Heavy Equipment Operator:	Erick Hill	91	
	Russ Dickerson	90	
	Jake Kraehling	87	
	John Anderson	85	
	Jason Bohning	82	
	Russell Moore	81	
 Vote on Motion: 3-0. Motion declared carried unanimously. COMMENTS: The next regularly scheduled Civil Service Commission meeting was set for May 26, at 8:15 a.m. ADJOURNMENT: The meeting adjourned at 8:20 a.m. 			

Michael R. Crum, Chair

Jill Ripperger, Recording Secretary