MINUTES OF THE AMES CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION

AMES, IOWA OCTOBER 6, 2014

The Ames Civil Service Commission convened in regular session at 8:15 a.m. on October 6, 2014, in the Council Chambers of City Hall, 515 Clark Avenue. Because it was impractical for the Commission members to be present in person, Commission Members Crum, Pike, and Shaffer were brought into the meeting telephonically. Human Resources Director Julie Huisman and Human Resources Officers Laurie Textor and Darla Gabrielson attended the meeting.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES: Moved by Shaffer, seconded by Pike, to approve the minutes of the August 21, 2014, Civil Service Commission meeting as written. Vote on Motion: 3-0. Motion declared carried unanimously.

CERTIFICATION OF ENTRY-LEVEL APPLICANTS: Moved by Shaffer, seconded by Crum, to certify the following individuals to the Ames City Council as entry-level applicants:

Assistant Building Official:	Scott Ripperger	82
Environmental Engineer I:	Patrick Brown	82
	Neil Weiss	82
	Taryn Tigges	73
Maintenance Worker:	Jeff Ellsworth	95
	Stephen Steward	95
	Mike Lough	90
	Nathan Rodamaker	89
	John Hathaway	87
	Casey Speake	86
	Mark Broderick	85
	Josh Davis	85
	Branden Geil	85
	Dallas Nelson	85
	Randy Abel	83
	Mike Lamberson	83
	Shilo Tharp	82
	Tyler Vermeer	82
	Tim Weatherman	82
	Mike Dunkelberger	81
	Jammie Dubberke	80
	Robert Stiles	80
	Shawn Whalen	79
	Clifford Argo	78
	Leroy Erickson	78
	Nicholas Fox	77
	Craig Ewing	76
	Matthew Kennedy	76

Police Officer:	Dilok Phanchantraurai	88
	Anthony Accola	*85
	Steven Beaudry	81
	John Curtis	*81
	Garrett Fagan	79
	Derek Accola	*77
	Rodney Briggs	*77
	Beaumont Pierson	*76
	Matthew Richardson	76
	Shane Thorsten	76
	Benjamin Campbell	73
	Andrew Roberts	73
	Daniel Lynch	72
	Brian Minnehan	72
	Adam Peterson	72
	Mark Lahart	71
Storekeeper:	Jeff Martin	82
	Jason Carpenter	77
	Josh DeVos	77
	Peter Hill	75
*Includes five Veteran's F	Preference Points	
Vote on Motion: 3-0. Motion	declared carried unanimously.	
COMMENTS: The next regul November 20, 2014, at 8:15 a	larly scheduled Civil Service Commission meeti .m.	ng was set for
ADJOURNMENT: The meeting	g adjourned at 8:20 a.m.	

Jill Ripperger, Recording Secretary

Michael Crum, Chair